Am I Living and Enjoying My Life’s Full Potential?

f8a20b83f0229e18489fc4421d1a99b4

This morning I started a new devotional reading plan on my Bible app. It is called Giving It All Away and Getting It All Back Again. Apparently, this devotional is from the book, with the same title, written by the founder and CEO of Hobby Lobby, David Green.

Right out of the gate this plan has me thinking already about how I am living my life. I am not just talking about how much I might cuss, or laughing at an inappropriate joke, or asking forgiveness for the road rage I experience from time to time. The part of my life I am thinking about is the legacy of my existence. Do I have the right frame of mind to live my life the way God intended? Happy, loving and giving.

Mr. Green broke out how we think during each stage of our lives. He states we worry about who we will marry or what type of career will we have in our twenties. In our thirties, we ask ourselves how I can grow in my career and will my kids turn out ok? I am in my late thirties, and I would have to agree with Mr. Green because those two items are very top of mind.

When we reach our forties, we start to question if the career we worked so hard for in our twenties and thirties is even the right fit. And wonder why life is so hard? The fifties we start to look backward and forward: “How has my life turned out so far, and what will I do that’s significant in the next twenty-five years?” (David Green)

By our sixties, we began to worry if our bodies will stay healthy and hold up and how often we will see our grandchildren. In the golden years of seventy, we start to look back and ask if everything we’ve done in life so far has been worth it. And more importantly, will anyone remember?

The material things we once held high are no longer relevant in our eighties. We will find our joy in the things you can’t buy.

A phone call from a friend
The touch of your spouse’s hand
A quiet walk observing God’s creation
The presence of your children
The laughter of your grandchildren
(David Green)

What struck me this morning is that the questions we should be asking at the beginning of our lives are the ones we ask at the end. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be eighty and regret not enjoying life the way God intended. What makes it hard for me to stop and smell the roses is I am always on the go. It is hard for me just to stop and soak in all the blessings around me.

What’s Your Mojo?
How do you live your life to the fullest? Are you like me and struggle to remember to enjoy life instead of always on the go?

Leave a Reply

