She Just Kept Swimming. The Final Chapter Of The Team Mallorie Story.

1604514_621175967957826_1433137462_n

For three years I have been thinking of the time I would be able to write this post. As much as I love words and creative writing, nothing I say here will ever show my love and appreciation for the support we had during Mallorie’s illness. It’s finally over and my heart is still moved by the compassion so many brought to our family.

kick

It is time to close the chapter on Miss Mallorie’s cancer journey and move on. I am a strong believer in moving on when the time is right. Now is that time. But as our family moves on to a cancer free life, we will not forget the journey, because the journey made us stronger.

The first text I made when Mallorie was in the hospital that night was to Daniel and Rachel Mahannah. I wanted to let Daniel, my boss at the time, know I was not going to make it into work that next day. His wife, Rachel, called me immediately (she is a nurse). She is so smart. She was asking me questions that I had no idea how to answer because we weren’t 100 percent sure what was going on at that time. She comforted and prayed for me. Even though I was afraid, I had peace.

Some of the early times of Mallorie’s diagnoses are sort of a blur. So I know I am going to be leaving some really good stuff and people out. So forgive me. But besides all the support of family, there was a group of dear friends that were always there for me. Becky, Amy, Megan West, Megan Hopper, Tami, Tanya and Brad.

Becky

I have been trying to think of ways to let them know I still think about their kindness, prayers and support to this day. Having them come to the hospital day in and day out to bring us food, a good laugh, NERF guns, hugs and support can’t be justified by words. They took time out of their busy schedules (Megan and Brad West about to pop with her first child) to make sure we were ok. Guys, I can’t thank you enough for everything you’ve done for Mallorie and I (and Madison). You are a blessing and your hearts are so big. Your kindness will never be forgotten. 

crosshairsThank you Crosshair Press for the book Overcomers. Thank you for using your talents to help our family. 

I do believe there are people brought into your life to just love you. That is Rick and Carla Siler. Rob and I have known these two amazing people for many years. I have always been fond of Rick and Carla, but when Mallorie got sick, these two were immediately up at the hospital and their kindness and blessings to our family is unmeasurable. Rick and Carla, I love you both so much. Thank you. 

The Ritter and Sandy Ledbetter were another family that went above and beyond the call of duty shirtsduring our journey. From bringing Mallorie a Christmas tree to brighten her spirits, to managing a t-shirt drive to help with medical expenses. This family is one I treasure. Ritters and Sandy, you all are amazing. You helped us in more ways than you could ever realize. Our appreciation goes deeper than that Christmas tree. Thank you for everything. And thank you Harris family for bringing ornaments, smiles, and hugs. 

And Hairwe can’t forget all the peeps who shaved their heads in honor of Mallorie. Let’s see if I can remember everyone. Glen, David, Kristin, Bryan. I am sure I am forgetting someone. What an honor and Mallorie was so tickled. Thank you. 

 

Jonie Miller gets a shout out for our Zumba fundraiser. Mallorie was to sick to attend, but it was a blast. Oh and the “homemade” scones. I need you to make me some more of those. You know you’re my favorite Mrs. Lady! Hugs! Jonie

During our many, many hospital stays, we got to know the nurses on the Wesley Peds and Peds Sedation floor like family. These guys are true angels because they see the absolute worst. If it wasn’t for the peds team, I am not sure what we would do. From the grumpiness, tears, cries of pain, to great listeners, sharing laughter and someone to talk to in the middle of the night, these women and men are the lifeline to recovery. Thank you for being wonderful. We shared this journey together. I will never forget the old beach scene room. You rock! 

Thank you Angela Sailsbury and family for putting together the best 5K in the history of 5K’s. 

The WIRE was a big part of Mallorie’s life at the time of diagnoses. We can’t forget the awesome support she received from her church family. Now tWIREhese students are going to be freshmen! Thank you WIRE and WIRE Small Group Leaders for your prayers and support. 

 

 

Thank you, Connor Richardson for shoveling our driveway when Mallorie was sick that first winter. You are such a sweetheart and a great friend to Mallorie. 

danielMy NewSpring family. During my absence taking care of Mallorie, running her to appointments, chemo and labs. You were supportive and made sure we were taken care of. I know my absences created more work for others and I am forever grateful for the grace and kindness I was shown. 

I started a Team Mallorie Facebook page so family members could keep up with Mallorie’s treatment. I was overwhelmed by the support. Team Mallorie has over 3,700 followers. And these followers were hardcore when it came to support. At one point, we received so many messages, I couldn’t keep up. So to our Facebook friends, thank you for sharing and liking her story. Your prayers were a tremendous inspiration and definitely felt. God bless. 

baileyBailey Bean, thank you for staying by Mallorie’s side during her hospital stays. I can remember you missing school to come to spinals and surgeries. And when you would come over and just sit with Mallorie while she slept and had no energy to do anything. What a true friend you are and we love you! 

 

And who could forget Jake Stemo?Jake and Mallorie His single “Making Me New” helped Team Mallorie in so many ways. Jake and Micah, thank you for sharing your love of Jesus and music. It was an inspiration to our family. I listen to that song from time to time and I still feel warmth, love and peace. You both truly make my heart smile. 

I have to give Richard Sawyer some props. He prayed and asked about Mallorie almost every day. Thank you, Richard, for being a man of God and caring so much for our family. 

blankets

Thank you to all who came and visited during Mal’s hospital stays. The stuff animals, blankets, hats, toys, coloring books, iTunes gift cards, food, prayers, and hugs were so appreciated. 

hats

 

One challenge Mallorie had was missing so much school. I can’t thank Andover Middle School enough for how they worked with us to make sure Mallorie stayed caught up. The teachers and staff are one of a kind. It is an honor to have our kids part of this school district. School

We had so many organizations reach out to us during this journey. I can’t begin to name them all, but we are grateful for the love and support.LLSTo all the people who donated hair in honor of Mallorie, thank you. 

hair 1

Now to my outstanding family.

Rob was the glue that held our family together. He kept the fRob and Malort afloat when I was at the hospital. I wish he knew how badly I ached to be at home, but couldn’t bare to leave Mallorie most days. Rob, thank you from the bottom of my heart for being amazing behind the scenes. You kept the laundry up, food on the table, cats fed, Logan bathed, and always had a warm hug waiting when we would come home. I love you memeXOXI! 

Mom, thank you for taking off work and spending time with Mal overnight while she was in the hospital. I know it was hard because you lived so far away, but you always brought much-needed relief and love when you came. Thank you for running with me late at night to the store to get Mallorie fruit because she was carving it. Thanks for listening to me vent and share my fears and frustrations. You are my rock. 

papa leeMallorie’s Papa Lee and Debbie would rotate in and out during hospital stays so we could work. Debbie would spend hours taking care of Mal. Thank you both for helping take care of Mallorie. 

Madison, thank you for your patience and staying strong. I know at times you felt like I abandoned you and I am sorry. Thank you for taking Mallorie to labs and helping out while she was sick. Just one more reason you are one amazing young lady. mal and mad

 

For thnanae most part, when I needed time away for the hospital, Kim (Nana) would take the shift. That way I could come home, see the kids and Rob, shower and just try to do some “normal” stuff. Kim has taken Mallorie to labs and chemo appointments. She has been the other half of this adventure. Kim, thank you for stepping up and helping take care of Mallorie. I know you have missed work to take Mal to chemo and hospital stays. Having your help made it so much easier. You should get Nana of the century! 

My dad and Suzie travel a lot doing ministry work. dadBut when they had free time, they were here. They also prayed continually for healing and recovery. Their dedication to pray for Mallorie and our family is the best we could ask for. Dad and Suzie thank you for praying and being there when you could. 

George and Mal

Everything happens for a reason, and I think the reason Papa George retired was to be Mallorie’s chauffeur to chemo. He retired a few months before Mallorie got sick and because of his unselfish love for that girl, he was the one, once she hit the maintenance phase of treatment, pretty much took her to every appointment so we could work. These two have a special bond and I couldn’t think of anyone better to help take care of her. So George, thank you. Thank you for going above and beyond the call of duty. Your help has allowed us to work and provide for our families. And of course, Mallorie loved you taking her to treatment because she always got food afterward. LOL! Seriously, from the bottom of my heart, thank you. 

RosenDr. Rosen was Mallorie’s oncologist. Best there is. He is so patient and kind. I would call him in the middle of the night and ask tons of questions and he would always smile and answer. Dr. Rosen thank you for caring for Mallorie. She is better because of your knowledge and expertise. We are so lucky to have you as a doctor, but also as a friend. 

Kim Rosen, where do I begin? You and Mallorie are so kim rosenclose and I am thankful for your relationship. I can remember in the beginning of treatment, she hated coming in for chemo, but she looked forward to seeing you. You made this experience as fun as it can possibly be. You are also a rock star! 

 

 

brosHere are the two little brothers that missed both their sister and parents when we were taking care of Mallorie. Thanks boys for being troopers. 

 

 

 

As I sit on my couch concluding this chapter, I chuckle because it is the same couch I sat on when I was in despair trying to figure out what this cancer was and how are we going to make it through this?

It’s over. This part of our journey is complete. After I received the news from Dr. Rosen that Mal is healthy, I thanked God for two things. The first was for his love, grace and healing. Second, was for putting the right people in our path to be successful and win this battle.

God had this from the beginning. And from every single person who prayed, supported and treated Mallorie, God had that worked out too.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you. Mallorie’s battle was rough, but not all horrible. She’s stronger. She’s braver. She never gave up. She just kept swimming.

The End.

 

3 thoughts on “She Just Kept Swimming. The Final Chapter Of The Team Mallorie Story.

Leave a Reply

