A Senior, Freshman and Second Grader Walk Into A Bar

Is this a joke? How in the world did my kids grow up so fast? I’m pretty sure it was yesterday I was helping my first born put on her ruby red slippers.

 

Rob, Logan, Madison, Mall

I am a mother of three amazing kiddos. Madison, Mallorie and Logan. These precious humans, next to my husband, are the most important part of my life. And this morning, I can’t help but think about how special each one is and how, in their unique, individual ways, make me a better person.

I have always heard that the first born is the smartest child. I believe this to be true because I am, myself, the oldest sibling. (You’re welcome sister.) Madison is no exception to that statement. When I found out I was going to be a mom, I was scared to death. I was not married, very young. Nineteen years old. I was still a kid myself, how on earth am I going to raise a child?1937179_1219093391479_4860266_n

Luckily, that worked out because Madison is a beautiful, intelligent soon to be 17-year-old. I feel a bit sorry for her looking back because since she was the first born, there was defiantly a learning curve. For the first three years of her life, she was my partner in crime. I didn’t go anywhere that she couldn’t go. I held her all the time.

She made me get my life straight. I wanted nothing more than to provide her with everything and decided to go back to college. She was the catalyst to where I am today. I experienced all my parenting first with her. Like the first feeling of the true, innocent love for a child. The wonderful joy of seeing a smile. The gagging of cleaning up baby poop and toddler vomit. The fear of what to do when your child is sick. The hea44595_1503425099594_6112694_nrtbreaking sadness of dropping them off at daycare. All these first were because of my Madi.

As she grows, I see this impeccable young woman. She has already excelled by leaps and bounds compared to me at her age. I know I don’t show it enough to her, but I am so proud. This next year is going to be hard because she is a senior and I know my time with her is growing shorter by the day. The only regret I have is not hanging out with her more during her high school years. But honestly, what teenager wants to hang out with mom on a Friday night?

The downfall of being the first born is sometimes more responsibility is put on you. I guess that’s what makes the first born so mature and responsible. Madison has helped me watch her siblings and P1090314carpooled. She has been a lifesaver and I am so grateful for such a giving child.

So here’s to Madison. I am so proud of you. You made me a mom. You taught me how to love unselfishly and to think of others before myself. I cherish our moments together, even though we may not always understand one another. (It won’t always be that way.) You have a bright future ahead of you and as cliché as it is, I do believe you can do whatever you set your mind to. I mean come on, you have my DNA. You know you are a rock star!

 

Moving on to the middle child. I am not sure about your thoughts, but the middle child can be stubborn, whiny and downright selfish. But I guess you need to be to survive against the older sibling. And the whole “new parent” thing has vanished and you know how to change diapers, that fevers are just part of the drill, and baby poop will not kill you. (Ok, maybe the smell.)

22473_1295060850618_2581059_n

Mallorie has a totally different baby than Madison. Madison was chill and could go with the flow. Mallorie, was a diva from day one. She always wanted to be by my side. Never could play alone and would bug Madison to the point of tears. She loved to run, it was like she was a fireball of exploding energy. She is passionate about having the last word. And at the ripe ol’ age of two, she almost got kicked out of daycare for biting. She actually got me kicked out of an establishment. (She was throwing a huge fit and I was ignoring her. We can save the details for another post.) She never took naps. She never wanted to sleep. But she always would cuddle, we still hold hands, she makes me homemade presents, she is creative and always up for a new adventure.

41103_1503426099619_1146328_nMy middle child has taught me to be patient. Her blue eyes melt my heart and her laugh fills my spirit with joy. Of course, she has had to deal with a pretty big hurdle the past few years. As you all know, she was diagnosed with leukemia when she was 11-years-old. And I am not going to get into that in this post, but her strong will, determined attitude, some could see as a character flaw or annoying, was the driving force behind her recovery success.

She will be having her 8th-grade promotion on Monday. All of her middle school experience, she has had to deal with cancer. But as of May 18th, she had her last chemo treatment and can start her new adventures of high school with a clean bill of health. She can be a normal kid having fun and only worrying about tests, what to wear and boys. Not about missing out on something because she is sick, making sure she takeMallorie Walls her medicine and feeling bad. And that makes my heart smile.

So here’s to Mallorie. Thank you for being the little nugget of fun and energy you are. I know I don’t always see the beauty in your personality traits, but I do love your spunkiness and can-do attitude. You being my daughter is a blessing to me and I could not imagine what my life would be like if you were any different. You are compassionate and funny. You will do great things.

 

Almost seven years ago I received a pretty awesome gift. My little boy was born. I am so thankful God gave me a son to love. It’s true, boys are much easier to handle than girls. He is bright, caring, humble and kind. Oh, and this kids is a hoot. He is already hilarious with his quick wit and delivery. Every day something he says has me busting a gut.

10511437_10203404423165285_8313267655136337634_o

One reason I am in love with this boy is he has taught me to think out of the box when it comes to using the imagination. Never in my life would I think I could be interested in monster trucks, action figures, and WWE. I get sucked into the things he enjoys. Just this past weekend we had a NERF gun shoot off and laughed the whole time.

I never like seeing any of my children sad, but something happens when I see my Loganson cry. I guess it’s a mother-son thing. And since I am so much older than I was when the girls were little, the things that they did that bothered me, don’t so much with him. The girls like to point that out to me from time-to-time. I probably owe the girls an apology on that issue. My son and I have the unbreakable bond. He keeps tabs on me just about as much as I do on him. He always gives me hugs and tells me he always loves me more.


P1090182So here’s to Logan. My sweet boy, thank you for being an awesome dude. I can’t believe you are going to be in second grade. You are a good boy that is going to become an incredible man. I look forward to helping and watching you grow up. And remember, I will be the only woman you will ever need in your life. (Ok, ok…..just kidding…sort of.)

2 thoughts on “A Senior, Freshman and Second Grader Walk Into A Bar

Leave a Reply

