Get Ready For A Beautiful Surprise

13221662_10208455825367183_8776283273778658298_nI never knew I could care so much about the life cycle of a butterfly until it was told by first graders. Today my son was part of his first-grade play called, Becoming A Butterfly.

The play begins on a warm day in early spring. A tiny egg is laying on the leaves. Fred, the frog, is keeping guard of this little egg, keeping the birds from eating it. The birds are hungry, but Fred is persistent on allowing this egg to be left alone because something beautiful shall come from it.

Egg, caterpillar, pupa, butterfly.  

As I watch this performance, my heart was full of joy. Logan looked so cute as Fred the frog and he said his line perfectly, “Get ready for a beautiful surprise!”  To me, this little play meant more to me than the story of a butterfly. It was symbolic for how fast our children grow up.

Like Fred, when our babies are born, we want to keep them safe and sheltered. Then as they grow, we give them a little more freedom. Then before you know it, they are spreading their own wings and flying away, strong and beautiful.

The boy did an amazing job with his three lines. And he wore that frog costume with pride.  I can’t believe my little dude is going to be in second grade.

I am so honored to get to be his mommy.

Leave a Reply

