Chocolate Eggs, Jelly Beans and Jesus

scary-bunny11It’s Easter weekend. Feels like a couple weeks ago we were celebrating Christmas. I think as I get older, time moves faster.

I love this time of year because it’s Spring. Flowers are in bloom, which means my allergies are also in full bloom. The weather starts to warm up. Well, I live in Kansas so you aren’t sure what mood Mother Nature is going to be in from day to day. To give you an example, a couple days ago in the western and eastern parts of the state it was snowing. Where I live in central Kansas, it was 70 degrees.

And of course, we have Easter.

I thought it would be fun to share some witty fun facts about Easter.

  • Easter always falls between March 22nd and April 25th.
  • The first Easter basket was given the appearance of a bird’s nest.
  • Chocolate eggs were made for the first time in Europe, in the 19th century. And still remain one of the favorite Easter treats.
  • Easter is the top-selling confectionery holiday, second only to Halloween.
  • On Easter, 76% people bite off the chocolate bunny ears first, while 5% bite the feet first and 4% eat the tail first.
  • Red jellybeans qualify as the most favorite food for kids on Easter.
  • For Americans, Easter is the second most important candy-eating occasion of the year, after Halloween.
  • In the mid-20th century, it used to take as much as 27 hours to make a marshmallow peep. Today, the time has been reduced to six minutes.

I am a fan of facts. Learning the history behind why we celebrate things is fascinating.

But what is the real reason we celebrate this time of year? This holiday wasn’t created as an excuse to eat chocolate rabbits and egg hunts. It was to recognize and remember the biggest sacrifice made by one man, Jesus.

I don’t want to get all biblical within this post, I just want to remember what Jesus did for me within these three days.

Good Friday is the day Jesus was crucified by being hung on a cross. He suffered. Not only did he experience physical, agonizing pain, for the first time Jesus felt the absolute separation from God. He died.

Jesus died for me. He took my place on that cross because I am a sinner. I am not good enough to go to heaven on my own. He died for you because he loves you.

But that is not where this phenomenal story ends. He came back. Even though he was placed in a tomb with a huge stone rolled in front of it, he defeated death. Just like he said he would.

That makes me pretty freakin’ happy. And very thankful.

Have a fantastic Easter weekend however you celebrate. I hope your Easter baskets are full and jelly beans plentiful. And  may God bless you.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Eggs, Jelly Beans and Jesus

Leave a Reply

