Lost My Job

I got laid off yesterday. I have stared at a blank page for over twenty minutes trying to come up with a clever introduction, but I got nothing.

Totally surprised about the lay off.  I guess I wasn’t completely surprised, I was just so busy with projects I just didn’t think it would effect me.

At first I cried, then I was ok. Would cry again. Stop. Cry. Stop.

I loved my job.

I’m ok now. Lot’s of opportunities out there for me.

Sometimes I wish I could write for a living.

This is the first time in my entire life I have been unemployed.

Feels weird.

Just wanted to share.

 

43 thoughts on “Lost My Job

  1. No words really, just a big cyber hug! Hang in there and choose one of the opportunities you see out there for you. Have experienced redundancy and you did the right thing by having a good cry – cuddle your loved ones, absorb their love and energy and after allowing yourself some self-indulgent, much-needed downtime send out that resume. Remember to add writing skills and blogging! Good luck.

  2. I’m sorry. I really am. I don’t really know what to say and I certainly don’t want to fall back on any cliches, so I’ll leave it at that. Tomorrow will look better.

  3. Chances are, there is something out there you’ll love even more. As you’ve begun to do, look beyond skills to what you really want to do. Wishing you the best!

  4. Definitely a tough way to start the new year; your comment that you loved your job gives me a lot of hope that you will find another great job quickly. People with your attitude toward their job are a truly great find for lots of companies, as many people have no passion for what they are doing on a daily basis.

    Best of luck with the search for a new job, and I look forward to following your progress.

  5. I was laid off a few years ago. I know it is not easy and certainly a sinking feeling; however, it’s amazing how new and special opportunities will come along for you. Put yourself in a HAPPY mood and start writing… this is your chance while you look for a job. You might be amazed at what you write and what inspires you. GOOD LUCK!

      1. Yes, try not to be sad, but INSTEAD look at this as a special opportunity to move in a new direction. You’re meeting fellow bloggers – that’s good. AND when I had been laid off someone send me some flowers with a note that said, “In every cloud there is a silver lining.” I NEVER forgot that. And 3 months later I got a job working for Apple Computer. Miracles happen. Get excited, go through your network of contacts and you’ll be surprised how many “interesting” jobs are out there. Good luck!

  6. sorry to hear that! my company has been laying off for almost three years and I’ve been lucky to keep my job so far but they just announced that we are going to be trained as a collections agency so I feel like I’ve lost my job as well… good luck to you! my only piece of advice is to try to enjoy your time off as much as you can! everything will be okay 🙂 xoxo

  7. Stay strong, hold your head up. I know the pain you feel, the uncertainty of what tomorrow will bring, how to manage, even what to tell friends. I hope that you will find a brighter path.

  8. Honest words. Into every life some rain must fall, but ignoring the rain can leave you cold and wet…

    You will rise. Truth and positivity are an awesome combination!

  9. That you can write about this when you feel so raw is amazing, and that you can put your feelings across without a hint of bitterness shows how well you write… You truely have mojo 🙂 Maybe there is bigger picture in play, and this experience will help open your eyes to something that you will love even more that perhaps you wouldn’t have otherwise seen… I look forward to reading about your journey and new way forward, whatever that may be – from another mum to a Star Wars crazy kid 😉

  10. I’ve kind of come to believe that everything happens for a reason & I ditto the comments above. Focus on your writing – I feel the same way as you about it. I’d love to write for a living and I’m sure it’s possible for both of us (& many others out there), we just have to put in the hard work and believe it. Good luck 🙂

  11. I am so sorry for your loss. Life gives you some and takes some away. Focus on what you love and don’t give up. Perseverance is the key no matter what obstacles come your way. Perhaps this happened so that you can get a better job that makes you happier 🙂 I wish you the best of luck!

  12. Wow, lots of great responses here and more power to you! Just found you and so I look forward to seeing what God, in His sovereign love and provision, does in, through, and for you.

  13. I’m sorry to read of your news. It’s all been said. I would only add that your post was real. It had you – a real person – in every word and appealed on a very human level. No pretense, no hype, just what happened and how you felt and feel. You could do worse than write about the experience as it unfolds from here. The real experience of job loss and the way forward as told by you.
    These days we hear so often of forced unemployment. There are snippets here and there of how people are affected. Sound bites in the news. You want to write. A blank page awaits. Something has happened – for good or bad – but the real story has still to unfold. You might be the one to tell it. In that very real way. Good luck with whatever develops from now. I do tend to agree with the commenter that said things happen for a reason.
    I wish you all the very best.

Leave a Reply

