Blogging 101~ Who I am & Why I’m Here

blogging 101

I have started a new class on blogging, which might seem sort of odd since I have been blogging on and off for a couple years now. My philosophy, never stop learning, so I am officially taking Blogging 101.

My first assignment is to post about who I am and why am I here. Well, my name is Dee Dee. I am an Aries, like long walks on the beach and candlelight dinners.

Yeah right. First of all, I live in Kansas so there are no beaches, I have three kids, so no time for candlelight dinners and the only true statement from above is I am an Aries.

I am a mother of three humans, married to one good lookin’ guy, two cats away from being considered a crazy cat lady, and work in advertising. I love WWE and the Denver Broncos. (P.S. – they won tonight.) I believe in God and that I can make everything I see on Pinterest.

The reason I am here is kind of a cool story. Ever since I was a young girl, I can remember always writing in my diary, poetry and stories. I can even remember the titles of my first poems I wrote. I typed them out on a typewriter.(For you young readers, if you are not sure what a typewriter is, go ahead and Google that.)  My mom stills has them and sometimes my sister likes to get them out and read them. Makes my kids laugh. The titles were very simple. One was called “The Meadow” and the other “The Mirror.” I was a very deep 10-year-old.

Back in 2013 I wanted to start sharing positive information with my Facebook friends. At the time I was working for a church and was sadden by all the jacked up stuff in our world. I thought a little positivity every day would not only brighten someone’s outlook, but help me smile too.

Originally, my blog was called, “On My Nugget.” It was simply a chance for me to write and express myself in a form I love, but it never had a certain direction or a mission. Then one day, a good friend of mine had noticed I hadn’t been posting any positivity on Facebook. She wrote me, “Hey girl, where’s my morning mojo?” Immediately a light bulb went off and I realized positivity is important and needed. And that is how Morning Mojo was born. However, the story gets even crazier.

I finally felt like I had a clear direction and goal for what I wanted Morning Mojo to become. I wanted to share joy, God, inspiration ~ all that stuff we lack in society. And three days after I changed the name over to Morning Mojo, my middle daughter was diagnosed with leukemia. What the heck, right?

For a while Morning Mojo became more of a documentary of our experience dealing with cancer and life during that rough season. I thought about changing Morning Mojo into something else, but I figured one day I will be able to use this blog as I seen it in the beginning. And I have to admit, Morning Mojo is a freakin’ cool name.

So yeah, that is who I am and why I’m here. I love to write. It is my creative outlet and a way I express myself. I could honestly do it for a living. I look forward to Blogging 101 and meeting all the new people.

And just incase you were wondering, my daughter, she is doing wonderful. She is in remission and is done with chemo in April. You can read some of her story and my thoughts on here.

 

18 thoughts on “Blogging 101~ Who I am & Why I’m Here

  1. Wonderful post – love morningmojo! I lost my mojo for a while because of breast cancer but it’s back! Great news too about your daughter’s remission. My middle brother had leukaemia, needed a stem cell transplant but he’s been back working and clear for 6 years. Never underestimate the power of prayer, positive thinking and love of family and friends:) I’ll look forward to reading your poetry and stories. My writing saved my sanity when my husband died and my daughters were 13 and 16, and it helped me through my own illness. We’ll just keep saying 2016 is a good year.

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I hope your cancer is gone. Cancer is an ugly beast. Mallorie was lucky, she didn’t need any transplants, but I know some kids that have had to have them. Glad he is cancer free!!!

      Writing can be such a blessing and a great outlet when we need to vent and express ourselves. My daughters are the same age yours were when your husband passed away. Reading that took my breath away. I am so sorry for your loss.

      Yes ~ 2016 is going to be a good year!

  2. Hey Dee Dee, Thanks for the follow on my blog!

    I’m loving meeting other bloggers.
    I left fb almost a year ago and am finding much more fulfillment thru WP!

    In response to your mentioning Cancer; the 1st time I heard that word was in ’83. If you’d like to know more, I blogged about it. Just search for “Foreshadowing” on my site.

    I’m here & writing because of Grace….and because as someone told me yesterday – my words as a tool of God’s power will influence others. That comment is changing how I approach the task he has given me.

    I probably should have taken Blogging 101 way back when but I started my site mid year and tried 201 instead.

    Wonderful to meet you!
    Blessings,
    – Kenzel

  3. Hello DeeDee,
    You have done an excellent job with the exercise. I love the post. I am happy to hear your daughter is well. Thank you for sharing your positivity and bringing good cheer to the blogging world. Keep up the excellent work – I like your chosen theme and the presentation of your site.
    I popped over because you have followed me, for which I thank you.

Leave a Reply

