Speechless

Heavy on my heart this morning is my friend Teresa. This past weekend, she lost her daughter to brain cancer.  When something weighs on me, it usually means I need to write. I looked at a blank page for over thirty minutes trying to figure out where to start. Then I realized, I can not find the words to portray the sadness and pain I feel for my friend. Really, what can you say when someone just literally lost of piece of their soul? Sure, you can tell them you are sorry, which I did. You could say, “She’s in a better place and is no longer hurting.” Or, “My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family through this difficult time.” These are all great and valid options to say in a situation such as this, and even though you mean well, I imagine these words bring little comfort for a parent who just lost their child.

As I think of my friend, I can’t phantom what she is going through. I could probably make up some metaphors at what I think she could be feeling, but I’m not. I just don’t think there are words to capture such a situation.

In the future I hope to write more about my friend and her daughter’s journey. But for now, I remain silent completely at a loss for words.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

