Happy Fall Y’all

Writing this post, I am sitting with my warm cup of coffee (with the best creamer on the planet ~ pumpkin spice), the windows opened and a soft, comfy sweatshirt. The house is peaceful and still. Not even the cats are awake. It is the beginning of Fall and I absolutely love it!

There is something wonderful when you get to open the house up and air out the stuffiness from the hot summer days. It’s almost the perfect weather for chili and of course football season. In the Baron household, we take football seriously. We put on our Broncos gear, whip up some finger foods and just veg out watching all the games. Logan usually puts on his Peyton Manning jersey, football helmet and runs playings right in front of the television. Even Madison and Mallorie hang out for a quarter or two, while inhaling little smokies and cheese dip. It’s one of the few opportunities we get to hang out as a family. It’s even better when the older kids come over as well. Everyone all together, it’s one of my favorite things.

Then you have the trash talk. Living in Kansas and being a Bronco fan is the prefect storm for talking smack. Of course, it’s only fun if you win, but the joy of texting and chatting with family, friends and co-workers about your favorite teams brings me happiness. It’s simply my favorite time of year.

Fall also means everything pumpkin. From pumpkin spice candles, decorations, coffee, muffins, donuts, pie, cookies and my favorite, pumpkin spice Hersey’s kisses (which currently are in every candy dish of my house), my love for this time of year is running ramped in our home. I am thankful my husband humors my love for the pumpkin and puts up with the aroma of burning candles and spiced scented Glade plug ins.

Next, is the ever hard-making decision of “What to be for Halloween?” I usually start asking Logan in August what he wants to be. He always comes back with the same response, “It’s only August. Why are you asking me that?” Then my answer is always, “Because if you want to get a good costume, we need to get it early.” He usually changes his mind 50 times before deciding around October 23rd. LOL, so funny. And since Logan is not a fan of chocolate, guess who reaps the rewards of a hard night of trick-or-treating? You got it, this girl.

This time of year, for me, reflects routine. I am a big fan of routine and planning out of the day. Summer is full of crazy schedules, messy house, cereal and popcorn for dinner, millions of text messages from your kids while at work, bed times way past midnight, lack of hygiene (Logan, when was the last time you had a bath?), junk food overload and way too many piles of laundry. Don’t misunderstand, I love the activities summer brings, but I think I feel more in control and organized when school is back in session. P.S. ~ teachers are a blessing.

At lastly, Fall brings back our favorite T.V. series. The anticipation of sitting down and catching up with the storyline and characters from the show you love.  Ain’t gonna lie, Rob and I are huge Big Bang Theory fans. And it has been killing me all summer to find out if Penny and Leonard are finally going to get married.  Oh, and did I mention football?

I hope you can see the beauty in this cool, crisp time of year. And have a few moments to enjoy the changing leaves on the trees and soon-to-come, slightly dusted frost in the mornings. The days where the mornings you need a jacket, but by afternoon short sleeves are perfect. What a perfect time. Here is to a happy Fall, y’all! Go Broncos!

Leave a Reply

