All You Need Is Love

New Year 2015Happy New Year!! We made it folks. Goodbye 2014 ~ hello 2015. I love the first day of the new year because it is like a clean slate. You can start again promising to make this the best-year-ever! For me, that usually last till Jan 3rd and everything I swore to achieve goes out the window. As I reflect on this past year, I have decided to call 2014 the year of the roller coaster. There were so many ups, downs, twist, turns and the occasional loop de loops, we weren’t sure if we should scream at the top of our lungs in fear or enjoy the ride. Looking back, I think we did a little bit of both.

Some of the things I learned in 2014:

1. I am not in control – God is.
2. I am stronger than I thought.
3. The number 101.5 is evil. (FYI ~ this is the magic body temp that sends you to the hospital.)
4. The Red Hot Chili Peppers are still a cool band. (Thanks Madison)
5. People are awesome.
6. Skylander’s, football and WWE is what makes my 5-year-old tick.
7. I have an obsession with Goodwill.
8. Gratitude comes in the form of sub sandwiches.
9. Angels do exist and they hang out at Wesley Medical.
10. I know way to much trivia information about The Big Bang Theory. (P.S. ~ ranked number 6 in the state of Kansas on Quiz Up.)
11. I still do not know how to make meat loaf.
12. Cancer is not a death sentence.
13. Reading is fun.
14. I can almost be in two places at once.
15. The Donut Whole has the best donuts.
16. Change is ok.
17. I’m not too bad at Madden 15 on the Xbox.
18. Time with my family is really priceless.
19. I am one, fine looking grandma. 🙂
20. Four cats is the perfect number to have.
21. Long hair is way fun.

My husband and I were chatting last night about the past and the things to come in the new year. He asked me if I had any resolutions. Normally, I would have the typical ones like, eating healthy, spend more time together, don’t sweat the small stuff, etc. But surprisingly, I didn’t have anything.  As the evening went on, in between Farkle and Quiz Up, I started thinking what I really wanted to accomplish in 2015. Should I work on losing weight? I guess I could, but I love Oreos and Red Bull too much. Should I get up every morning and read my Bible? That’s a good one ~ but why should I limit myself to just reading it in the morning? Maybe I will drink less coffee and more water. LOL ~ yeah right. Tried those all before and failed. Wait. I have it. I can start a traveling circus. That seems more realistic. (Chuckle, chuckle.) I kept thinking and nothing was coming, until I laid down about 1am. As I was closing my eyes, one word appeared in my mind. I could see it so clearly. It was the word love.

EmilyS_1a_mintA copyLove? Why would love pop in my mind? I love things. I love my family and my work. I love God. I really love Nutella. So what am I supposed to do with L-O-V-E? Then it hit me ~ I need to love unconditionally in all areas. There are so many forms of love and I think I use that word to loosely. And with that, love just isn’t a word. Love is action. I can toss the term around all day, but if my actions don’t line up with the word ~ it means nothing. So here is my plan for 2015 and I can sum it up in one sentence. I am going to love just as Jesus loved. What I think is so cool about Jesus is He loved people so much He didn’t see their sins, He saw what God created and knew it was good. Everyone deserves to be loved unconditionally, no matter what they have done or will do. I want to be a judgement free spirit, who helps others and let’s them know they are worth so much. The good Lord knows I am one who has made my fair share of mistakes and yet He loves me anyway. And I want other’s to know that love.

Before 2014, I really thought I was a caring person. I would help people when it was easy for me. I would tell people, “Yeah, sure ~ I’ll be praying for you.” But was my heart truly invested in their needs? No, not really. I mean, I would feel a little bad, but it really didn’t stop me from my day. Then, in the darkest time, I really needed prayer for my family. I needed prayer for my sick daughter. So many people prayed. And I mean prayed hard. People from all over the world. It was overwhelming. And I was (still am) thankful for all those prayers because in the mist of the trying times, I didn’t pray. Looking back, a part of me wonders what would have happened if those prayer warriors had been like me. Only sort of invested in my needs. Would things have turned out different? Would Mallorie been in remission so quickly? Would the peace I felt covered me like it did? Who knows? But what I do know is that it is because of love people prayed, supported financially, cooked and even cleaned. The love that surrounded us healed us. Love flooded over our family. It was the most amazing feeling. I want to be part of the flood. I want to love others and love them deeply ~ just like Christ.

So that is my goal for 2015. And to be honest, it sounds way easier than going to the gym. And way more achievable then giving up Oreos. I hope whatever you decide to do or change in 2015  do it with love, even when it is hard. And when you look back at 2015 in 365 days, you can say ~ heck ya this year rocked!

 

HeartRibbon

Dee Dee

Leave a Reply

