I am a Christian. I am not a door mat.

There are some people in this world, who for some reason, feel inferior. Like the rules don’t apply to them. Somehow in their “jacked up” mind feel they can control and manipulate people and situations. Sadly, I know a few people like this. They are difficult to work with on any level. It is so frustrating, especially when you have tried to be accommodating and the better person.  Eventually you get to a point where enough is enough. You put on your boxing gloves and hit the ring. You are pumped and proud to have gained the strength to fight. Your opponent jumps in and the first blow delivered is – “I thought you were a Christian? Christians don’t act like that?” There goes the wind out of your sails. Now you start to doubt your intentions, you put your tail between your legs and run away. They won, right?

“Battles are won in moments that don’t feel like victories.” ~ Pastor Mark

How many times have you felt like you finally have the strength to take a stand and you are left feeling empty? I just had an experience like that. Not going in to much detail of the situation, but understand it is a very personal matter. I had a run in with someone who I must deal with often. No way around it. And recently things have been getting out of hand. I had enough. I called this person out. I am tired of letting things slide, especially when it comes to the well being of others. Of course we had some nice, colorful things to say to one another. Then I received this message “You sure are hateful for a ….. Christian?” Hold the phone! Are you serious? There are few things that really get me fired up. Don’t mess with my kids. Don’t be shady. People who don’t pull their weight, but expect credit really get under my skin. But the number one thing on my list is when someone comes at me questioning my love for Christ. It blows my mind when people do that, especially when they claim to be a Christian themselves. I feel people who throw out the “I thought you were a Christian?” card are cowards. No one has the right to confront you on what they think your relationship with God is. It is something between the two of you. And let me clarify, this post is not going to get into the nuts and bolts of Christianity, what’s right and what’s wrong. This post is simply this ~ Yes I am a Christian, but I am not a door mat.

Here’s the deal, God made all our emotions. Every-single-one. So thinking you need to be happy and pleasant all the time because you wear a cross around your neck is absurd. And I think sometimes, Christians, have been taught or  believe they should always have a halo around their head. Like they shouldn’t rock the boat or ruffle any feathers. You may find yourself thinking, “It must be a sign of weak faith if I get mad or have anxiety, because if my faith were stronger, I wouldn’t get upset or worry.” To me, that is a lie from the devil himself. It is not a sin to get upset. Life stinks and God knows that. Becoming fed up with ridiculous, unfair situations is okay. God still loves you. And you don’t have to agree with everything. Conflict is natural and it shows we were all made unique. You can be a Jesus follower and have an opinion. Of course, how you deal with these situations is key and a post for another time. Personally, I don’t always handle conflict with grace and mercy, but because of my faith in Jesus, he gives me grace and mercy even when I don’t show it to others.

“Those that talk down to you are just trying to walk tall by making you feel small.”

Understand this, just because you love Christ doesn’t mean you should allow people to walk all over you. Stand up for what you believe is right. Defend the weak and for those who have no voice. And yes, it could mean things are going to get ugly. So what?. Sometimes life has to get messy before it can get cleaned up. Don’t let anyone make you feel inadequate or small when they question your faith. The only one you have to answer to is God. If you feel in your heart you are doing what is best and your motives are pure, you continue to fight.  Now, I am not saying to go all “Braveheart” on people. Don’t go bashing in doors, kicking butt and taking names. What I am saying is it is time to realize, being a Christ follower doesn’t mean you have to remain silent and allow people to rub their dirty, muddy paws all over you. Remember the big fad back in the day, WWJD? Jesus was prefect. The only prefect person to live on earth, but you know what I think Jesus would do? He would show his emotions. In fact, he did. He got fed up with situations. He stood up and made himself heard.  He laughed, he cried, he sang with joy, he got tired, and he even got angry. Since Jesus had these emotions, why would we feel it is not okay for us to have them? It does not make us any less of a Christian to have certain feelings. Period.

 

 

One thought on “I am a Christian. I am not a door mat.

  1. i agree with you but i also think as believers we should go as far as possible to live in peace with one another especially other brothers and sisters…its what we are called to do by Gods word..its not a suggestion, its a command. Just a loving challenge for you!

    Never pay back evil for evil to anyone. Respect what is right in the sight of all men. If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with everyone. Never take your own revenge, beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, “VENGEANCE IS MINE, I WILL REPAY,” says the Lord. To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. Romans 12:17-21

Leave a Reply

