The Mighty Tongue

People with tact have less to retract. 

Did you know that the tongue, relative to its size, is the strongest muscle in the body? Our mouths, with the help of our mighty, buff tongues, allow us to talk, smile, frown, whistle, and enjoy food? The tongue is essential to our lives.

I have a love/hate relationship with my tongue. I love my tongue because it allows me to taste food. I love my tongue because it helps me talk, which I tend to do a lot of. I love my tongue because it aids in my singing, which I am the only one who appreciates. I hate my tongue when I accidentally bite it. That is one of the worst pains EVER.  I hate my tongue when I have a sore throat because it is the mechanism that forces me to swallow. You know what I am talking about, it is like swallowing a bunch of nails. Ouch – no fun. I also hate my tongue when I say hurtful things. And I hate the tongue of others when I hear hurtful words.  I think the saying, “Words can cut like a knife” is a load of crap. A knife cut will eventually heal, once a hurtful word is flung off the strongest muscle of your body, you are left with a piece of the heart and mind forever damaged.

“Oh, I really didn’t mean what I said.”

One pet peeve I have is hearing people say I didn’t mean to say that. If you spoke it, you meant it. Now, you may not have meant to say it in the tone it came hurling out of your pie hole, we do tend to allow our emotions take over our mighty tongues, but regardless, you meant it. I do believe in open communication, but sometimes I find myself shutting down instead of expressing myself.  I have learned over the years the filter that has been placed between my brain and my mouth is defective. But every once in awhile hurtful and ignorant words fly out like a ninja. Then I usually feel embarrassed, sad, and like a total loser.

Sometimes we just can’t control how we feel. We are human, we get mad, have doubts, want to make the other person hurt, want our opinion to be heard. It is completely normal. But for me, I don’t want to ever cause someone to stumble. I don’t want my hurtful words to be what someone replays in their mind when they are trying to go to sleep. I don’t want to be what is hindering someone from reaching their goals because I chose to speak without love and respect.

“He who loves a pure heart and is kind in his speaking has the king as his friend.” Proverbs 22:11

Have you ever met someone and you think they are really smart, then they start talking? The truth be told, we probably have all been that person at some point in our lives. We tend to think we know everything about a topic and in reality we just end up looking like a jerk. Yep, I have been jerk. What’s the difference between being a “jerk” and staying a “jerk”? Maturity and wisdom. If I am screwing up or making poor decisions, I don’t want someone trying to correct me in a attacking, hurtful way. I want to be corrected with love and grace. And I hope I am mature and wise enough to be someone who does the same.

Proverbs 15:28, “The heart of the righteous weighs its answer, but the mouth of the wicked gushes evil.”  Let me simplify that verse for you – Just think before you speak. 

I believe the world would be a more desirable place if we could learn to control our tongues. I don’t mean get rid of freedom of speech and keep our opinions and views to ourself. What I do mean is we should learn to use the strongest part of our bodies in a honorable and loving way. Do you ever hear a bird apologize for the song it sings? Do you ever hear the dog tell the cat that it’s meow is wrong? (Annoying maybe – I can say that because I have four cats.) Humans, one the other hand, find ourselves embarrassed and ashamed at our own words. We create drama that could have been avoided if we would have just spoke with love and grace. I read this quote the other day and it has stuck with me, so as I close I leave you with this to think about.

Light travels faster than the speed of sound. That’s why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.  

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Mighty Tongue

  1. Well said Dee Dee, I often find myself saying things I regret, especially with the kids. I’m learning to count to 10 🙂 Again.

Leave a Reply

