Never Abandoned

A couple days ago, I went downstairs to our laundry room to fold some towels. My five-year-old son was busy playing in his playroom. As I was sticking my head into the dryer to grab the first towel I hear this awful, high-pitched scream, “Mommy!” Panic immediately set in and I about knocked myself out trying to get my head out of the dryer. I bolted down the hallway, turned the corner of the staircase, stubbing my little toe. Running up the stairs in groups of three, I ran into the playroom and saw Logan sitting on the floor holding a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle in one hand and wiping a tear with the other.  As out of breath as I was I muttered, “Son, what in the world is wrong with you?” He said, “I called out for you and you didn’t answer me so I thought you left me alone.” I regained my composure, got down on the floor and said, “Logan, why would you think I would ever leave you alone? Why didn’t you get up and look for me?” He replied, “I didn’t know where to start looking.” 

We have all felt alone.  Something happens in life that makes us withdrawal and feel that there is absolutely no way anyone could ever understand what we are dealing with.  And when the time comes when we are ready to reach out, we have let life get us so bogged down, we don’t even know where to start.  Did you know that Jesus felt abandoned? He sure did. The only perfect human in the world felt forgotten by God. When Jesus was hanging on the cross, He cried out, “My God, why have you forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46) Jesus asked the very same question we ask during rough times in life, “God, are you even there?” When God heard Jesus crying out to Him, He didn’t answer right away. Jesus died, people mourned and doubt began to set in.  And just when the thought of hopelessness began to arise, God raised Jesus from the dead, just like He promised. Now, I could stop this blog post right here because the cross, death and resurrection is all we need.  This true story, from the Bible, is simply showing us no matter how lost and alone we feel God is always there and He knows what is best for us. If God would have saved Jesus from the cross, then we would not have the gift of everlasting life. It was all part of God’s plan. The Bible tells us that the same God that took care of the people who lived before us, is the same God who takes care of us today. (1 Kings 8:57) What is so awesome about God is He can see the whole story of our lives. We only see paragraphs and eventually those paragraphs become chapters. We don’t know how our stories are going to end, but God does.  

My son felt abandoned because he couldn’t see or hear me, so he just assumed I was gone. And that feeling of hopelessness he felt kept him from trying to find me. I would never leave him alone because I love him and he is to young to take care of himself.  And that is just how God feels about us. We tend to confuse God’s silence with absence, but in reality if we would just look, we would find Him ready to take care of us. God is the only one who can see the entire picture of our lives. He knows what is good for us and what we need. It is hard to believe He loves us because our lives can get pretty messy. We tend to think that if God really loved, bad things wouldn’t happen. God doesn’t create the bad in our lives. Most of the time, it is our decisions that cause pain to others and ourselves. I read a quote that said, “We tend to cause the storms and then complain about the rain.”  If we admit our mistakes and turn from them, God will carry our burdens and lead us on the right direction.  

Prayer: Thank you for never leaving me in my time of darkness. Because of your promise in the Bible, I know you are always with me. You know my faults, struggles and my fears. In the Bible you tell us not to worry about anything and to pray for all we need. And no matter what the answer, be thankful. (Philippians 4:6) And even though I cannot see you, I believe in you. You have done so many great things in my life. You have answered many of my prayers and love me enough to not give me all I ask for because you know what is good for me. I ask you to guide me to make good decisions and to walk ahead of me so I can see what is right. I thank you for the cross and saving me from death. You think I am special enough to never abandon me, even when I screw up. You show me grace every single day. You are truly amazing. Amen.  

Keep this in mind, just because God is silent, doesn’t mean He is not there. Relax, chill out and trust Him to work in your life on His own time. Doing so will be a hundred times better than you trying to trust in yourself or others.  

God bless.  

Leave a Reply

