Powerless

“Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.” Matthew 5:3

Have you ever woke up and said to yourself, “I am going to do everything prefect today. I am going to be a good spouse, parent, co-worker, sibling, son, daughter, friend. I am not going to mess up at all. I am going to own this day!” I have started my day like that many times. My intentions are good, but as soon as my feet hit the floor, I have already defeated myself.

Have you ever wondered why you fail when you try so hard to do the right things? I mean, come on, you are a good person with good intentions and you still find yourself messing up or giving in to things you know you should not do. Then on top of already feeling like a “hot mess” for screwing up your foreseen prefect day, you start to feel this shame for doing the very thing you swore a few hours earlier you would not do.

Let me begin by saying, you are not alone. Every single person on this earth screws up. That’s right, every – single – person. Why? It is because no one on planet earth is prefect. Sure, people walk around thinking they do no wrong or that they are just down right better than everyone else, but those people are just as messed up as you or I. We just have one up on them because we know we make mistakes. The reason why we struggle in the first place is because we have this thing called, free will.

When God made earth, as it states in The book of Genesis, it was good to Him. But He still thought it was missing something, so he created Adam and Eve. Can you just see Adam and Eve hanging out with God? Being the first humans of creation? How cool would that be? Seriously? To experience a prefect world would be unreal. And when God created Adam and Eve, He wanted them to love Him on their own terms. God could have created robots and programmed them to love Him, but He didn’t. So, Adam and Eve had the right to choose to believe and trust in their father, their creator. And as the story goes, Adam and Eve decided to go against the rules God had put in place, take charge of their own lives and got tricked by a snake. How does that happen? How does someone get fooled by a snake? Simple. They took their eyes off God.

Just like Adam and Eve, we can not do right on our own. Our sin nature will eventually take over if we do not allow God to be in control of our lives daily and in every area. We can do nothing in the flesh, but if we put God as the front runner in our loves, He becomes the shield to block our sinful tendencies and keep us on the right path. Sounds easy right? Nope, it’s hard. This is something I personal struggle with. I tend to think I have it all under control and then something happens and I know I have failed. That feeling sucks.

There is good news. God loves us know matter how often we mess up. He knows our intentions and as long as we believe in Him and have faith in His word, He is always there to pick us up. It might not happen right away, but I promise He will never leave you, even in your struggles, failures and screw ups. And I think that is pretty cool.

Dear Heavenly Father,
I realize I am weak and powerless on my own. I now understand why I keep failing over and over again. It is because I try to be You. I am so sick of failing. I ask you to become the shield in my life, not only with the things I struggle with, but in all areas. You created me and know me better than I know myself. I pray You stay close to me for satan’s temptations are real and strong for the flesh, but I believe You are stronger. Your word tells me you will never leave me and satan does not stand a chance in Your presence. I know I will stumble, but because I believe in You, You will not let me fail. Amen.

I prayed the prayer above this morning and I found comfort knowing that I am protected by God. Now, I still have to do my part and stay focused on Him, but knowing the creator has my back is something I do not take for granted. Just remember when you find yourself feeling defeated, God is right there waiting for you to give Him the battle. As I close, I leave you this verse.

“For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I can not carry it out.” Romans 7:18

One thought on “Powerless

Leave a Reply

