All In “Do” Time

Yesterday was full of excitement. Have to say, it has been awhile. Mallorie had her first office treatment. While we were there, we started discussing wig options for her. I am going to share something that only few people in my life are aware of. Since Mallorie has been so brave, I decided it is time I stand up and be brave as well.

Back in 2005 I was diagnosed with scarring alopecia. It’s not life threatening, but I can relate first hand on what it is like to lose your hair. At the age of 25 I was told by 30 I would be bald, and they were right. I was heartbroken. I had beautiful, thick, naturally curly, long brown hair. I remember thinking, why is this happening to me? What did I do to deserve such a disease? After the shock wore off,  I was embarrassed and afraid of what people would say if they knew I sported a wig. I mean only old people wear wigs, right? Am I going to be considered a social outcast? Am I going to be classified as a weirdo? After I couldn’t hide my thinning hair anymore,  I made a call to The Wig Lady and she changed my life.

Now that Mallorie is going through something so similar to what I experienced with the hair loss, I feel my prayers have been answered on the subject of  “why did this happen to me.” I now understand the purpose of why I have dealt with baldness. (But behind closed doors, I have cried, cussed, and screamed because I wanted my hair back.) I have so much knowledge that I can pass along to my daughter and that has made my journey worth it.

We met with The Wig Lady and for the first time since Mallorie has been diagnosed, she had a bit of her old self shine through. She found a wig that is just prefect for her. It looks just like her old hair. It is fantastic. Mallorie also decided to go ahead and shave her head. It was truly a positive step to the road of recovery.   In life there are so many times we wonder why bad things happen to us. God may show us right away. He may show us years later. He may never show us until we get to heaven. But all things work together for good. As  I close this entry I leave you with this scripture.

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. Isaiah 41:10.

3 thoughts on “All In “Do” Time

  1. Thank you for being brave DeeDee. I know when I lost my hair during chemo it was shocking. I felt horrible all over so the hair lose was just one more thing to go through. I was in my 20’s I sported all different kinds of wigs. Short, long, brown, blonde everyother day I was someone else, my co-workers made up new names for me to go with each wig. That became my life line to something funny and even when I didn’t feel like laughing it made me smile. Every little step that you and Mallorie go through on this journey will show someone else down the line or even now how God can shine through in ANY situation. Love to you both. Kim Harris

  2. I am in awe of your bravery! You are a light in this world. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Just keep swimming! I believe God is swimming with you always! Love to you guys…Lisa

  3. Now I see where Mallorie gets her “glue” from. The only love that is most like God is that of a mother,a good mother. Heaven knows and hears your every cry and sees every tear. David wrote that God keeps our tears in a special vial. Don’t know exactly why but must be very important to Him So cry and laugh and take “Courage” cause Jesus knows and is able to rescue us. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

