It was Saturday December 15th, 2013. Our day was normal and things had went as planned, grocery store, light cleaning and church. Mallorie, my 11-year-old daughter, had been hanging out with me for most of that day. When we got home from church, one of her friends came over to hangout. About thirty minutes after her friend arrived, Mallorie comes out of her room and shows me her legs. Up and down them were these tiny red spots. I really didn’t think much of it at first. I asked her if they itched and she said no. I sent her back to her room and began to look up what it could be online. Since she volunteers with the preschool age children at church, I immediately started thinking, “What if it is something contagious?” After a little bit of searching online, I came up with two possible solutions for her rash. It was either strep throat or mono. I debated about taking her to the ER. I didn’t want to spend the $50 for the co-pay, especially so close to Christmas and I definitely didn’t want to spend what was left of my Saturday night in the ER. Even though I didn’t want to go, Mallorie kept telling me that something didn’t feel right, and she was scared. I rolled my eyes, thinking she was being over dramatic, and we loaded up in the car and headed off to our local hospital. When we got there everything was pretty much standard. Vital signs, temp taken, and symptoms discussed. Doctor came in, took a look at her legs and stated they needed to do some blood work to determine if the culprit was strep. I was thinking that was what it was because it was going around her school. Blood was drawn, again standard procedure, right? Well, when the doctor came back in a bit later and said they need to take more blood, my mom senses started to kick in. Not too worry and a bit annoyed, they took more blood. We sat and waited. When the doctor walked back in the room, I could tell something wasn’t right. He sat down on the chair next to the bed. Honestly, I don’t really remember what he said, because after he said the word leukemia, my mind stopped functioning. All I do remember was high white blood cell count, ambulance ride and hearing Mallorie start to cry. When I came back to reality, I immediately wrapped her in my arms and we began to pray. Tears streaming down our faces, holding hands, we began to pray for peace, wisdom and healing. We felt better. After that, things moved so fast, yet seemed slow. Life pretty much stood still, but kept moving. It was weird. We had to be transported to another hospital and the ride seemed to go on forever. I kept replaying in my mind all the wonderful moments Mallorie had brought to my life. Then I started thinking about all the times I got upset with her for stupid stuff or that I didn’t take the five minutes to watch something she wanted to show me online. I started thinking, “Have I truly been intentional with her as her parent?” At that moment, sitting in the back of the ambulance, I was hit with the realization that time here on this earth is only temporary and Mallorie’s time in this world may be over. I didn’t want to think that, but it is honestly where my mind went. I felt like I had been hit by a semi-truck. How could this be? I mean, just an hour ago my daughter was hanging out with her friend. Now we are admitted into the PEDS unit waiting to see if Mallorie really had cancer. The rest of the night seemed to be a complete blur. I do remember feeling at peace with the current situation. God was wrapped completely around me and Mallorie. I rested a bit and as the sun started to rise, the phone calls began to grandparents and family. Within the hour her room was filled with loved ones and prayers. At 9am on December 16th, 2013, Mallorie was diagnosed with T-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL). Again, I had that same feeling I felt at the previous hospital. I remember thinking, “My daughter has cancer? My daughter can’t have cancer because stuff like this does not happen to us.” We all cried. And we cried a lot. We prayed. And we prayed a lot. But once we heard the survival rate and cure percentage, I felt so much better. Now, it is time to kick this in the butt and start fighting. We have only been on this journey a short time. Within these couple of weeks we have seen many miracles. Not just physical healing miracles, but spiritual and emotional miracles. Family has come together, worked together and prayed together. The medical staff at the hospital were amazing, helpful and caring. Friends and strangers pulled together and showered us with prayers, food and words of encouragement. Even during all the chaos and fears, there has been peace and understanding. I wish things would just go back to normal. But then again, why would I want that? So many wonderful things have come from Mallorie’s cancer. God does make everything beautiful in His own time. I believe many lives have been touched by Mallorie before and after this diagnosis. And I also believe only the best is yet to come. Don’t get me wrong, I get mad, frustrated, emotional and even have the occasional pity party, but in the end I know God’s glory will be shown.  Mallorie is a bright, caring, God-loving girl. She has been so strong during all this. And I know it is because of her faith and all the support. God is in total control and I want to thank everyone for all their goodness. I know there will be ups and downs, but she will win this fight.

14 thoughts on “The Day That Changed Everything.

  1. Dee dee you are a fighter and so is Malorie!!! You have faith in god to over come this and I am a believer that everything happens for a reason ad god only puts what you can handle on your shoulders…. I myself had a very emotional sickness over come my son Derek in 2010 when my son was diagnosed with HIV. We thought it was cancer at first and then the diagnosis of HIV came. Now with the meds he is living a healthy life and should be a long healthy life. Now I volunteer and dedicate my life to people living with Aids and HIV.. I feel this is what I should be doing and the path The Lord has set for me!!! I will pray everyday for your family and Malorie. Loves ya!!!

  2. Dee Dee words cant express how sorry i am that your family is going through this trying time. Mallorie is in my prayers for a painless, peaceful, speedy recovery. And you friend are in my prayers for strength and comfort. God will get your family through this!

  3. The events of your lives the last couple of weeks have definitely impacted me on a spiritual level (and I don’t even know your beautiful daughter). Thanks for being so open and transparent. God is using your willingness to share in a powerful way!

  4. Prayers for strength and peace are being sent for Mallorie and for you and your whole family Dee Dee. Your blog is such a testimony to others. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  5. I have been praying for your daughter since My daughter, Wendy, told me of the diagnosis. Will continue to pray for all of you and trust God for healing . May His presence continually surround you.

  6. Dee Dee, We are praying for you all and will keep you in thought and prayer! You all are faithful, and God will not let you down!!
    Love, The Gerdes family

  7. I remember your sweet smile with Kidzworld coming to witness to our precious ones at Jefferson. I will be praying for your family. We have seen some of these miracles in the last years with friends and know that God’s purpose is always greater than we can fathom.

  8. Dee Dee, I heard of your daughters’ diagnosis a little over a week ago from a friend in our Sunday School class. My husband was diagnosed with cancer a little over 10 months ago. I understand what you are going through. He only had a few weeks to live when they diagnosed him but after the first 2 chemo treatments he went into full remission. He is now all clear and we are back to our “normal” life. This will be a journey of faith, prayer and unexpected emotions. Please know that I will be praying for you, your daughter and your family. I know you don’t know me but I am here if you need someone to talk to or cry with you, or to just talk about the emotions you are experiencing. Just keep praying and breathing!

    Barb Tozer

  9. I don’t know you or your precious daughter. The only thing we have in common is we’re both mothers. Of course praying for the healing of your daughter. I once heard that the prayers of a mother shake the very windows of heaven. I believe this to be true due to the many circumstances in our childrens’ lives (who are now raised with families of their own) that were overcome through prayers. Praying for the peace that passes all understanding. Knowing that God is a very present help in times of trouble. He gives his Angels charge over us to keep us in all of our ways. Jer. 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” and God will complete the work He has started in us. I could go on and on about the promises of God. The thing is His promises are our treasures. Tangent hopes to hold to and claim. I pray God will bring to your rememberance all of the promises that have sustained you over your life Dee Dee. In His Name.

    Barb

Leave a Reply

